LAST TIME FOR EVERYTHING

20170612_204611.jpg

I love Brad Paisley, love him. He is an amazing singer, songwriter, and can play one hell of a guitar lick…but his most recent song, although very catchy, leaves me sad when I hear it on the radio.  No matter the mood I am in…it leaves me sad.

“Last time for everything,” after hearing it, I would immediately become filled with regret and sadness for events that had occurred and the fact that I DIDN’T NOTICE that it was the last time…

Last time I listened to Starship while dancing on my bed, belting out “We Built This City” into a hairbrush.

Last time I would eat cinnamon sugar toast with my grandma.

Last time for the butterflies from a first kiss.

Last time walking down the aisle with my dad, seeing the hubster standing there with a smile waiting for me.

Last time I would spend the night in my grandma’s farm house where my dad, aunt and uncle were raised.

Last time I would move into the new house that the hubster and I spent countless hours, with blood, sweat and tears, building ourselves.

Last time I would hold my babies for the first time.

Last time I would rock them to sleep.

Last time I would hear them say “momma”, or roll over, or crawl, or walk, for the first time.

Last time I would wash their hair.

Last time I would lovingly accept a bouquet of weeds from a two-year-old with chubby hands.

The last time…

And then last night, while driving down a gravel road and listening to the song, I became momentarily sad that this would be the last time that I drove down this road, with one of my littles dancing in the back seat, as we giggled and smiled at 8:15 on Friday, July 7, 2017.  In that exact moment, I realized that it was the last time for all those things and I turned the radio down. And then a thought floated through this crazy mind of mine and I smiled. Until this song brought it to my attention, I didn’t know it was the last time, because I was grateful that it was the first time.

Life is how we see it…. although the string of events above was the “last time”, in that exact moment that they occurred, they were also the “first time.”  And today, on July 8, 2017…there will be another string of a million firsts that will occur in this upcoming 24 hours that we will all get to experience. Although, the truth is they will be the last time, in that exact moment, they will also be the first. So cherish them, be thankful for the firsts that each new day brings, don’t think of them as the last.  One of my favorite quotes is, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”  May you go through today smiling, living in the moment of firsts and embrace them.  They may be the “last”, but life is so much sweeter when you view them as the “first”.

Much love and hugs for you on this first beautiful Saturday, July 08, 2017.  Ness 😊

2 thoughts on “LAST TIME FOR EVERYTHING

Leave a Reply

